A Recap from the 2023 Annual Meeting of Shareholders

Koniag’s 2023 Annual Meeting of Shareholders was held October 7, 2023, in Anchorage, Alaska. 

Incumbent directors Anthony “Tony” Drabek, Tyan Hayes, and Rita Stevens were reelected to serve three-year terms. Quyanaa to Stephen Parsons for running to serve on the Board of Directors. 

Peter Griggs was named Youth of the Year and Perry Eaton was named Elder of the Year. 

The corporation also recognized longtime Koniag election inspector Clay Hightower for his years of service. He will retire at the end of 2023. 

Koniag’s Shareholder Settlement Trust principal contribution will be $5,676,000, bringing the total principal contributions to $30,675,377.

Koniag’s Elder Benefit of $1,200 was issued to original Shareholders age 62 and older on October 6, 2023. A new spring Elder Benefit of $400 will be issued on April 5, 2024, to original Shareholders age 62 and older as of March 15, 2024. 

The Annual Dividend was raised to $25 per share and will be distributed January 26, 2024. 

Shareholder Resolution 2023-01 was approved by the majority of voting Shareholders, lowering Koniag’s quorum requirement from over half to one-third. 

Quyanaa to those who attended this year’s meeting!